What Happens if you are Hit by Someone Without Insurance?
Utah law mandates that all drivers have automobile insurance. More specifically, Utah law requires that you carry a minimum of $25,000.00 bodily injury coverage per person, $65,000.00 minimum per accident, and $15,000 minimum for property damage. Failure to not have automobile insurance is a Class B Misdemeanor and comes with a fine of at least $400.00. Moreover, the Utah Department of Public Safety is required to suspend your driver’s license.
According to InsuranceJournal.com, in 2015, roughly 13% of the drivers on US roads do not have insurance despite the preceding. Uninsured drivers equate to approximately one out of every eight vehicles. That is a troubling statistic. What happens if you are one of the unfortunate auto accident victims hit by a driver who does not have insurance? If you are injured by an uninsured driver and are at fault for the accident, your recourse will be to claim your uninsured policy. If you do not have this coverage, you will be responsible for addressing the costs without recourse against an automobile insurance company.
Understanding Uninsured Motorist Accidents
What exactly is an uninsured policy, or rather uninsured motorist coverage (UM)? This is a specific portion of your system that comes into play when you are hit by a driver who does not have insurance. This policy will also be utilized if a hit and run driver injures you. Uninsured policies can address medical bills, pain, and suffering, funeral costs, and lost income. However, if you are to make an insured claim, this can impact (and most likely will) your insurance premiums. After all, even though the accident is not your fault, you are claiming your own insurance company.
What can you do About a Car Crash?
Utah law does not require you to carry uninsured motorist coverage. That said, if you are injured and need assistance, you will be grateful you can make an uninsured claim. It is your protection against those individuals who do not have insurance coverage. Be sure to communicate with your insurance agent that you want uninsured (and on a different topic, underinsured) motorist coverage. Many people will waive their uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage in an attempt to save a little bit of money. As an added layer of protection, Utah law requires that a waiver of these policies be done in writing.